The Guy from Philly or The Philly Cheesesteak?

Andrew* was from Philadelphia and had recently taken a promotion to work in sales in my pretty little city.

Do you know the game? Swipe left, swipe right then BOOM it’s a match! The newest dating app has begun taking over the world providing users with an experience that is almost as addicting as an Xbox game.

There was something about Andrew that was intriguing, was it the glasses or the way he talked? This happy go lucky, “I don’t care what anyone thinks because I’m from Philly, wasssup? How you doin?” type of attitude would make any girl laugh and wonder… “Alright, what is this guy all about?”

Andrew and I met in the hipster/artsy area of town at this quaint little restaurant known for its cheese plates and array of brews. It had white Christmas lights swaying in the sky under the moon and stars above our heads. A band played and we sat at a little outside patio table for two. Talking, laughing, flirting and getting to know one another while trying different cheese and meats, gulping our drinks when the concoction was not sweet. The sky grew dark as the time passed and the accompanying tables around us full of once laughter became quiet.

After such a great night, when Andrew mentioned he lived close and that I could come over for a movie, I didn’t decline.

It was Friday and why not? We were having a great time!

His apartment was modern and new, stained appliances, glass and wooden accents. The place had a Seattle feel in the heart of downtown.

We sat down to watch a movie, but after a few minutes it became apparent that the movie was not what he had intended by inviting me over for “a movie.”

I asked him if we were going to watch that movie (because I legitimately wanted to watch a freaking movie) but he said he wanted to do something else with our time.

As the moves came in like an errupting volcano the only thing I could think of was uh-oh, crap, how do I get out of this mess. This was not my intention.

Finally after getting frustrated with the unwanted moves I exclaimed,

“If you don’t keep your hands off me, I am going to get up and leave and you’ll never see me again. Please behave, I came over to spend more time with you and watch a movie.”

He stated, “You’re over reacting, please don’t leave. I’m sorry. I want to spend time with you.”

I calmed down and sank back into the couch. “What was it the beer? Too much alcohol? We were having a fun time,” my brain chugged starting to question the evening.

Then he started again..

I got up from the couch, picked up my purse and shoes and said “Clearly you and I want different things, get back online and find someone that wants what you’re looking for tonight, because it’s not me.”

He said, “What did you think was going to happen?”

I said, “Uh watch a movie, maybe cuddle a little”

He said, “Well you were wrong, don’t let the door hit you on the way out!”

 

That was it. I learned my lesson. Silly and naïve me, Never go over to “watch a movie” and always choose the Philly Cheesesteak over the guy from Philly.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment